Kandy, Dambulla register wins

July 10, 2024
Kandy, Dambulla register wins

Lanka Premier League 2024

In a doubleheader Tuesday, Dambulla Sixers and Kandy Falcons secured wins to intensify the playoff race in the ongoing fifth edition of the Lanka Premier League being played at Dambulla International Cricket stadium.

Falcons triumphed over league leaders Jaffna Kings in a thrilling chase, whereas Dambulla displayed their bowling strength against Galle Marvels.

Kandy Falcons Vs Jaffna Kings

Dinesh Chandimal’s aggressive knock of 89 runs overshadowed Pathum Nissanka’s 119, guiding Kandy Falcons to a commanding 7-wicket triumph over Jaffna Kings in a high-scoring contest.

Jaffna Kings posted a competitive total of 224-7 after batting first, thanks to a splendid century by Pathum Nissanka. In reply, Kandy Falcons successfully chased down the target in just 18.2 overs, driven by Dinesh Chandimal’s rapid 89-run contribution.

Jaffna Kings made a strong start after opting to bat, as Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis combined for a 112-run opening partnership.

Pathum took charge early on with an array of boundaries and sixes, while Kusal Mendis added 26 runs before getting dismissed by Ramesh Mendis in the 10th over after being caught LBW.

Despite the breakthrough, Pathum continued to dominate at one end, with Rilee Rossouw later joining in to form another 50-run partnership for the second wicket.

The dynamic Rossouw scored 41 runs before departing in the 15th over, leaving the Kings at 162-2 with Pathum Nissanka closing in on his century at 92 runs.

Nissanka then accelerated, smashing 22 runs off Shoriful Isalm’s over to reach his first T20I century. He eventually reached 119 runs off 59 balls, including 16 boundaries and 4 sixes, before getting dismissed in the 17th over while attempting a slog sweep over long on, caught near the boundary line off Dasun Shanaka’s bowling.

Pathum’s explosive innings also set a new record for the highest individual score in LPL history and marked his first T20I century.

Despite the promising start, Jaffna Kings were restricted to 224-7 as wickets fell at regular intervals in the final overs.

Dasun Shanka had a decent bowling performance, ending with figures of 3-40.

In reply, Kandy Falcons got off to a strong start with a solid opening partnership between Dinesh Chandimal and Andre Fletcher, adding 34 runs for the first wicket in just two overs.

After Fletcher (13) was dismissed, Chandimal continued to attack, forming a crucial 58-run partnership with Mohammed Harris for the second wicket. Despite Harris (25) being out, Chandimal scored a quick 89 off 37 balls, including 8 boundaries and 7 sixes, before being dismissed in the 14th over. Kamindu Mendis then partnered Angelo Mathews (29*) to successfully chase down the target with 10 balls to spare, with Mendis remaining unbeaten on 65 off 36 deliveries.

*Dambulla Sixers Vs Galle Marvels *

Meanwhile in another game played between Dambulla Sixers Vs Galle Marvels, 21-year old Chamindu Wickramasinghe’s all round performance helped Dambulla register a thumping 25 run win.

Chamindu scored 56 runs with the bat before showcasing his bowling skills by taking 2 wickets.

Brief scores:

Jaffna Kings: 224-7 (20) (Pathum Nissanka 119, Rilee Rossouw 41, Dasun Shanaka 3-40, Dushmantha Chameera 2-44, Ramesh Mendis 2-28)

Kandy Falcons: 230-3 (20) (Dinesh Chandimal 89, Kamindu Mendis 65*, Tabraiz Shamshi 2-46)

Dambulla Sixers: 160-8 (20) (Chamindu Wickramasinghe 56*, Kavindu Nadeeshan 3-16)

Galle Marvels: 135 all out (19.4) (Isuru Udana 72, Nuwan Thushara 3-37, Dushan Hemantha 3-33, Chamindu Wickaramasinghe 2-1)