Autokitz Cricket Club in a thrilling 15-run win against Royal Masters.

August 16, 2023
Autokitz Cricket Club in a thrilling 15-run win against Royal Masters.

The newly formed Autokitz Cricket Club registered a thrilling 15-run win over Royal Masters in a 25 overs Cricket encounter, played at the Royal College turf Cricket ground, Colombo- 07 recently.

Autokitz Cricket Club batting first, lost their opening batter with the score at zero on board and wickets falling at regular intervals, they were 7 wickets down for 74 runs at one stage with Janith Jayasinghe, Ishan Perera and Isurunath Dissanayake contributing with double figures. Danushka Gajanayake scored 16 runs including 2 fours and a six and Geeshan Ayeshana scoring 24 runs including 3 fours and a six got the board ticking with useful knocks. Milan Maduwantha played a solid innings stroking 34 runs not out in 28 balls including 3 sixes and a four and well supported by Shahen Rodrigo took them to a challenging total. Rasika Peiris and Senaka Senarathne claiming 3 wickets each and Sisila Indraratne, Nuwan Perera and Lasantha Perera claiming 1 wicket each were the pick of the bowlers.

Royal Masters in reply, lost their first wicket at 10 runs on board, Shezard Nizar stroking a gallant 42 runs in 47 balls including 5 fours together with Faizal Yousuf also playing a magnificent inning scoring 42 runs 47 balls including 2 fours and 2 sixes, the pair together added 92 runs for 2nd wicket and a useful knock of 21 runs in 22 balls including 3 fours by Lasantha Perera put them to a commanding position. With the dismissal of these 3 batters, Autokitz Cricket Club bowlers, Lakshman Rodrigo, Hasika Chameera, Ishan Perera and Geeshan Ayeshana bowling with a tidy line and length, captured 4 more vital wickets, Isurunath Dissanayake taking a well-judged catch, Dhanushka Gajanayake taking 2 extra ordinary catches and wicket keeper, Dhanushka Hannadige dismissing a Royal Masters batter with a fine run out, slowed the run rate and turned the match in favour of Autokitz Cricket Club to win by 15 runs. Geeshan Ayeshana with an excellent all-round performance earned him the Man of the Match award.


Autokitz Cricket Club 166/9 in 25 overs

Janith Jayasinghe 12, Ishan Perera 33, Isurunath Dissanayake 10, Geeshsn Ayeshana 24, Dhanushka Gajanayake 16, Milan Maduwantha 34 not out, Rasika Peiris 3/12, Senaka Senarathne 3/34

Royal Masters – 151/7 in 25 overs

Shezard Nizar 42, Faizal Yousuf 42, Lasantha Perera 21, Hasika Chameera 2/17, Geeshan Ayeshana 2/29


The winning Autokitz Cricket Club team