Thomian Masters in a 35-run win against Police Masters 

August 21, 2023
Thomian Masters in a 35-run win against Police Masters 


Thomian Masters registered a comfortable 35-run win against Police Masters in a Masters 25 overs Cricket encounter,  played at Police Park ground, Bambalapitiya recently. 

Thomian Masters taking the first lease, lost an early wicket at 5 runs, Anura Bulankulama joined the other opening batter Naresh Adikaram, and the pair together steadied the innings with a solid  71 run stand partnership for the second wicket. Useful contributions coming from Ranil Peiris, a gallant knock  by NIC Silva scoring 43 runs, Naresh Adikaram scoring a star-studded 55 runs and Anura Bulankulama scoring a solid 30 runs, took Thomian Masters to a comfortable total. Kapila Mahinda claiming 3 scalps, Chamara Silva and Nihal Soyza claiming 2 scalps each, J. Siriwardena claiming 1 scalp,  were the pick of the bowlers for Police Masters. 

Police Masters in reply,  also lost their opening batter at 7 runs, the other opener Kapila Mahinda , who had a fine bowling spell along with one down batter,  the pair together added 48 runs for the second wicket with Kapila Mahinda playing a magnificent innings scoring 33  runs. Contributions from Nihal Soyza  scoring 24 runs, Chamara Silva scoring 19 runs and Upula Serasinghe scoring 29 runs, kept the board ticking and the dismissal of these batters and wickets falling at regular intervals including 3 run outs, Police Masters were all out for 144 runs with Premalal Wickrama,  the middle order batter getting into double figures.  NIC Silva, who also played a marvellous inning, along with Johann Peiris claimed 2 scalps apart, Palitha Liyanage,  Anura Bulankulama and Ranil Peiris got 1 scalp each to give Thomian Masters a 35 run win.

Scores :  –

Thomian Masters  – 179/7 in 25 overs 

Naresh Adikaram 55, Anura Bulankulama 30, NIC Silva 43, Ranil Peiris 12, Kapila Mahinda 3/28, Nihal Soyza 2/22, Chamara Silva 2/30, J. Siriwardena 1/35

Police Masters  –  144 runs all in 23.1 overs 

Kapila Mahinda 33, Nihal Soyza 24, Upula Serasinghe 29, Chamara Silva 19, Premalal Wickrama 13, NIC Silva 2/15, Johann Peiris 2/27, Palitha Liyanage 1/26, Anura Bulankulama 1/21, Ranil Peiris 1/40