Charith Asalanka To Lead Sri Lanka In First Two T20Is against Bangladesh

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced a 17-member squad for the T20I leg of the upcoming tour of Bangladesh. Charith Asalanka will captain the team in the first two T20Is as regular captain Wanindu Hasaranga is serving a two-match ban for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct. Hasaranga received three demerit points and a 50 per cent fine of match fee during the T20I series against Afghanistan. The incident occurred at the conclusion of the third T20I between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan in Dambulla when Hasaranga spoke to umpire Lyndon Hanibal to express dissatisfaction with a decision regarding a high full toss that was not called a no-ball, as reported by ICC. Furthermore, opener Pathum Nissanka, who was initially part of the squad, will not be traveling to Bangladesh due to an injury sustained during the Afghanistan series. He will be replaced by Avishka Fernando.

Other notable inclusion is spinner Jeffrey Vandersay who marks his return to T20I side after February 2022.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Wanindu Hasaranga (capt for last game), Charith Asalanka (capt for first two games), Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando, Kamindu Mendis, Avishka Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay.

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)

You Might Be Interested In